The Blog is Dead, Long Live…

In the last few months I’ve been on holiday, received some worrying personal news (which is slowly getting resolved, touch wood), followed the Olympics and now Autumn is setting in. I still intend to get down to writing/blog seriously again (perhaps more seriously than I ever have) once the clocks have gone back. However, I think if I am going to return to blogging again I need to make a fresh start of some sort. So this is going to be my last post under the AngloNoel banner, which considering I started blogging under that name back in late 2004 with Blogger, is an event of sorts!

A lot of my internet time in the last 5 years or so has been taken up by Facebook and in the last year or two by Twitter, although FB is stil my main Social Media platform. I also have accounts with LinkedIn and Goodreads, neither of which I have done much with thus far, although I need to attack Goodreads before not too long. To be honest, it is much easier to post a link or make a quick comment/bon mot on Facebook or Twitter than it is to write a fresh blogpost. I think I need to give my blogging the sharpness that I bring to Facebook and Twitter posts, without being scared of giving my readership (reader?!) a few long, heavy articles (with the text broken up a few times by pithy/informative/funny pictures) every now and then!

There is also the issue of what I am blogging for. The last couple of years I have lost a lot of my raison d’etre to blog and write and it is a process of bloody difficult toil if you are just going through the motions. Like most things in life, if it is not done for love and/or money, you eventually drown in existential angst…or ‘what is it all for?’

Anyway, I am starting a new blog. I don’t want to give much away at this stage, as in my mind’s eye I am still:

However, I hope to get it up and running around the time the clocks go back, it will be on WordPress and its name will be ‘Or Just Another Country.’ If you get the reference, you might get some idea of what it will be like in terms of content and execution!

Update: my new blog will be at Or Just Another Country

Published in: on September 30, 2012 at 10:09 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://anglonoelnatter.wordpress.com/2012/09/30/the-blog-is-dead-long-live/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

