What I Need In My Life…

A thumbs up for ‘Limitless’- a good film for anyone who has suffered writer’s block!

‘Being a good writer is 3% talent and 97% not being distracted by the internet.’- Anonymous (Hat-tip: Bridget Minamore!)

That’s my big excuse anyway! Also I’ve got some big posts I want to show off the world here and I have an aversion to fobbing people off with rubbish blogposts.

In addition, sometimes, indeed much of the time since last summer, I have found blogging a burden in many ways. Without going into detail (perhaps the subject of a later post) I often find blogging a chore. Change the word ‘book’ for ‘blog’ and I sometimes totally identify with George Orwell in his essay Why I Write:

‘Writing a book is a horrible, exhausting struggle, like a long bout of some painful illness. One would never undertake such a thing if one were not driven on by some demon whom one can neither resist nor understand. It is invariably where I lacked a political purpose that I wrote lifeless books & was betrayed into purple passages, sentences without meaning, decorative adjectives & humbug generally.’

This quote was used a few days ago on Facebook by David Sirota, who has just brought out what looks like a very interesting book:

Mr S has been on the road in the US promoting his book, and commented on FB:

I’m psychologically destroyed from the process of book promotion. It is an awful process when you are A) not a celebrity and B) not willing to write things just to fit into a prefabbed narrative. You learn commercial success has nothing to do with merit & everything to do with your ability to kiss ass. And as a writer, I find it brutally demoralizing.

Sounds to me like a warning to anyone out there wanting to write a book which might be interesting.

Anyhow, I am going to keep plugging away with this blog and see what happens from there. However, although there is a lot of great stuff and similarly great people on the internet, I’ve become increasingly aware over time of the truth in Betrand Russell’s famous quote, which the internet often accentuates:

The trouble with the world is that the stupid are cocksure and the intelligent are full of  doubt.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://anglonoelnatter.wordpress.com/2011/04/02/what-i-need-in-my-life/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

